English Español Français العربية

من أصدقاء رزان
8 يونيو 2020

في هذا الوقت الحرج الذي يجب على العالم التعاون والتضامن للتغلب على الوباء العالمي، نؤمن بأن رزان المبارك هي الشخص الأقدر على توجيه الاتحاد الدولي للحفاظ على الطبيعة، والتأكيد على أهمية إظهار المزيد من الاحترام للعلم وقوة العمل الجماعي.


تتمتع رزان بخبرة قيادية رفيعة المستوى، حيث تقود في وقت واحد ثلاث مؤسسات بيئية مهمة، تضم: أكبر سلطة حكومية تنظيمية بيئية في الشرق الأوسط، ومنظمة غير حكومية تركز على مشاركة أفراد المجتمع، ومنظمة خيرية دولية تتولى دعم مشاريع الحفاظ على الطبيعة في أكثر من 160 دولة. وتمنحها هذه الخبرة الواسعة والمتنوعة ميزة خاصة تؤهلها لقيادة الاتحاد الدولي لحفظ الطبيعة. وبفضل خبرتها التي تتجاوز 20 عامًا في قيادة جهود الحفاظ على الطبيعة في منطقة تَعُجُّ بالمصالح المتعارضة، ستقدم رزان للاتحاد الدولي لحفظ الطبيعة سجلًا حافلًا في القدرة على صياغة الحلول التي تُقدّر الطبيعة وتحميها، وتعزز فرص تحقيق التنمية المستدامة.

إذا تم انتخابها، فستكون ثاني امرأة تقود الاتحاد الدولي لحفظ الطبيعة طوال تاريخه الممتد على مدار 72 عامًا، وأول رئيسة من العالم العربي منذ عام 1978. كما ستكون أيضًا أول امرأة من آسيا تشغل منصب رئيس الاتحاد.

شاركت رزان بدور مهم في صياغة وتطوير خطط الإمارات العربية المتحدة لمستقبل أكثر استدامة. فبصفتها أميناً عاماً لهيئة البيئة - أبوظبي، أسهمت في تعزيز التوجهات الحكومية المتعلقة بتبني أهداف للحد من انبعاثات غازات الاحتباس الحراري بنسبة 42٪ - أول مستهدف للكربون في المنطقة - ومضاعفة مساحة مناطق الحياة البرية المحمية إلى 30٪ بحلول عام 2030 . كما أشرفت الهيئة، تحت قيادتها، على برنامج إكثار المها الأفريقي (أبو حراب) في الأسر في أبو ظبي، وإعادة توطينها مرة أخرى في البرية في تشاد، حيث أسهم هذا البرنامج في عودة هذا النوع بأعداد متزايدة إلى موائله الطبيعية، بعد أن تم تصنيفه كنوع منقرض. 

razan-panel

لبناء مستقبل أخضر، قادت رزان جهود هيئة البيئة - أبوظبي لإدماج مبادئ الاستدامة في النظام التعليمي بمستوياته المختلفة. كما عملت على تعزيز التزام الحكومة بمشاركة دولية أوسع وأكثر فاعلية، فأسهمت في إطلاق مبادرة "عين على الأرض" للبيانات البيئية، وتنظيم سلسلة من اجتماعات لجنة بقاء الأنواع التابعة للاتحاد منذ عام 2008، واستضافة أحد مكتبيّ اتفاقية الأنواع المهاجرة. وقد أسهمت هذه الشراكات الدولية، وغيرها، في تعزيز الموارد والخبرات في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة والدول الأخرى.

بصفتها العضو المنتدب لصندوق محمد بن زايد للمحافظة على الكائنات الحية وأحد مؤسسيه، ساعدت رزان أيضًا في بناء واحدة من أكبر هيئات الأوقاف الخيرية في العالم لدعم المحافظة على الكائنات الحية بشكل مباشر.

بدأت رزان حياتها المهنية في الحفاظ على الطبيعة من خلال المبادرة إلى تأسيس جمعية الإمارات للطبيعة، وهي منظمة غير حكومية محلية تابعة للصندوق العالمي للطبيعة؛ وتشغل الآن منصب العضو المنتدب فيها. وقد نفذت الجمعية، تحت إشرافها، برامج مهمة مثل حماية الشعاب المرجانية في الإمارات، وإجراء مسوحات ميدانية قادت إلى إنشاء أول محمية جبلية وأول منتزه وطني على مستوى الدولة، ووضع إطار عمل لحماية تعشيش وهجرة السلاحف البحرية ورفع مستوى الوعي بأهميتها.

ترتكز رؤية رزان الخاصة بالاتحاد الدولي للحفاظ على الطبيعة بالالتزام على العمل عن كثب مع جميع مستوياته بما في ذلك الشباب والمجتمعات المحلية. وسيشكل هذا النوع من القيادة أهمية كبيرة في عالم يشهد استقطاباً حاداً ووجهات نظر متباينة بشأن الحفاظ على الطبيعة. ويأتي على رأس أولوياتها ضمان توفير الموارد المالية للاتحاد من خلال تعزيز التزام الجهات المانحة الذين يدركون أهمية وقيمة الاتحاد الدولي لحفظ الطبيعة. والأهم من ذلك، العمل عن كثب مع جميع أعضاء الاتحاد لضمان نجاح تنفيذ برنامج الاتحاد الدولي لحفظ الطبيعة 2021-2024.

نحن نعتقد أن الاتحاد، تحت قيادة رزان، يمكن أن يؤدي دورًا أكثر قوة وفعالية من أي وقت مضى في تعزيز جهود الحفظ العالمية. وندعوكم للانضمام إلينا في دعم رؤية رزان لزيادة قوة وفعالية الاتحاد، خاصة في هذا الوقت الذي تُعتبر فيه رسالته حاسمة لمستقبل العالم

مع أطيب التحيات،
لجنة أصدقاء رزان


انظر جميع رسائل الدعم

تعرف على نشطاء حماية البيئة والقادة من جميع أنحاء العالم ممن يدعمون ترشيح رزان لمنصب رئيس الاتحاد الدولي لحفظ الطبيعة.

By Friends of Razan
June 8, 2020

At this critical moment, as the world must unite to overcome this global pandemic, we believe Razan Al Mubarak is uniquely qualified to guide the IUCN and ensure that we emerge with even greater respect for science and the power of collective action.


Razan's experiences in leading the largest environmental regulator in the Middle East, an NGO focused on citizen engagement, and an international philanthropic organization that has supported conservation projects in over 160 countries provide her with a unique perspective from which to lead the IUCN. With more than 20 years of conservation leadership in a region rife with competing interests, she would bring to the IUCN a strong record of forging solutions that value and protect nature while promoting sustainable development.

If elected, she would be only the second woman to lead the IUCN in its 72-year history and the first president from the Arab world since 1978. She would also be the first woman from Asia to serve as the Union's president.

Razan has played a significant role in shaping the UAE's evolution to a more sustainable future. As the former head of the Environment Agency – Abu Dhabi (EAD), she secured the commitment of the government to adopt targets to reduce greenhouse gas emissions by 42% — the first carbon target in the region — and to double its protected wildlife areas to 30% by 2030. Her agency has also overseen the successful breeding of captive Scimitar-horned oryx in Abu Dhabi as well as their reintroduction back into the wild in Chad, thus seeing a species that is listed as Extinct in the Wild now increase its numbers in its natural habitat.

razan-panel

To build a green future, Razan led the EAD in introducing sustainability education in schools, while fostering the government's commitment to international engagement. Partnerships like the Eye on Earth environmental data initiative, convening four meetings of IUCN Species Survival Commission since 2008, and hosting one of two offices of Convention on Migratory Species have brought resources and expertise into — and out of — the UAE.

As the founding director of the Mohamed bin Zayed Species Conservation Fund, Razan has also helped to build one of the world's largest philanthropic endowments supporting direct species conservation.

Razan began her career in conservation by helping to establish Emirates Nature, a local NGO affiliated with the World Wildlife Fund (WWF); she now serves as its managing director. The group has taken significant steps to protect the UAE's coral, conducted field surveys that led to the establishment of the country's first mountain national park, and created the framework and culture to protect nesting and migrating sea turtles.

Razan's vision for the IUCN is grounded in a commitment to work closely with all IUCN constituencies, including young people and local communities. This kind of leadership is critical in an increasingly polarized world with conflicting perspectives on nature conservation. She will make securing the finances of the IUCN a top priority by cultivating the commitment of donors who understand the value of the IUCN. Most importantly, working closely with all IUCN members, she will ensure the successful implementation of the IUCN Programme 2021-2024.

Under Razan's leadership, we believe the IUCN can play a more powerful and effective role than ever before in strengthening global conservation efforts. We invite you to join us in supporting Razan's vision to make the union stronger at a time when its mission is crucial to the world's future.

Best regards,
The Friends of Razan Committee


See all endorsements

Meet conservationists and leaders from around the world who are supporting Razan's candidacy for President of the IUCN.